How I Became A Founder: Perkies’s Rosie Mangiarotti

Frederick Daso
4 min readOct 14, 2020

Looking for a job with the hottest startups delivered to your inbox weekly? Subscribe to my newsletter, Founder to Founder (F2F): f2f.substack.com. Check out my latest F2F story: Startup Spotlight #41: Motion.

Rosie Mangiarotti graduated from Brown University in 2018 with a Bachelor’s degree in Business, Entrepreneurship, and Organizations. She was a four-year member of Brown University’s Women’s Varsity Lacrosse team, captaining it her senior year. As the Founder & CEO of Perkies, she’s managed to accomplish quite a bit already:

  • Named one of “2020’s Startups to Watch” by Rhode Island Inno
  • Participant in Brown University’s Breakthrough-Lab; intensive & selective 8-week accelerator program for startups
  • Audience Vote Winner for the 2018 Cox Business “Get Started RI” Pitch Competition
Perkies founder and CEO Rosie Mangiarotti.

Frederick Daso: When did you first gain interest in being a founder?

Rosie Mangiarotti: Since I can remember, my father has been an entrepreneur, so this idea of starting a company was never too foreign to me. I began taking it more seriously once I got to college, specifically my junior year, when I took a class at Brown called “The Entrepreneurial Process” taught by Professor Danny Warshay. As part of this class, we had to create a business plan…

--

--